On September 9, 1908, the Sanderson property along Fishing Creek was purchased and Clinton Country Club was born. On June 12, 1909 the Clubhouse was officially opened. So complete was every detail of the opening of Clinton Country Club, the Express reporter went on record by stating “It was as if the fairy wand of magic had touched the picturesque banks of the Bald Eagle and its singing sister, Fishing Creek”
The original recreation areas (where the present practice green and golf cart sheds stand today) included tennis and croquet courts. A boathouse, which held 40 boats, was also built along Bald Eagle Creek allowing for many years of swimming and boating.
In 1920, a new 9 hole golf course was laid out by the well-known Architect, Alexander H. Finlay, the “Father of American Golf”. (www.alexanderfindlay.com). Mr. Findlay also designed nearby golf courses; Phillipsburg Country Club (presently known as Philipsburg Elks Lodge and Country Club) and Centre Hills Country Club.
Quick Findlay Fact: Every green he designed he did so by laying down on his back and looking up at the clouds. He would then sketch the clouds on his design sheets, and presto every green is a unique masterpiece. Clouds of Green!
In later years, additional land was purchased from Dr. Joseph Magre to add an additional 9 holes. Internationally known golf architects, the Ault, Clark & Associates (www.acagolf.com), originally known as the Edmund Ault Ltd. was hired. Edmund Ault Ltd. also designed nearby golf courses; Iron Masters Country Club, Toftrees Golf Resort and Conference Center and Lewistown Country Club.
In 1976, the new 18-hole golf course was opened and ready for golfers of all ages to enjoy!
Today, CCC remains a challenging test for golfers of all skill levels. Its combination of beautifully landscaped fairways and greens and breathtakingly scenic views is tough to match anywhere in Northeast Pennsylvania. We encourage everyone to take the short journey to Clinton County and visit us.